## **Media Release**

The Hon Natalie Hutchins MP Minister for Education Minister for Women



Wednesday, 12 October 2022

## **OUTSTANDING VICTORIAN WOMEN HONOURED**

Victoria's most remarkable women who have helped shape our state and support the community have been inducted into the 2022 Victorian Honour Roll of Women.

Minister for Women Natalie Hutchins congratulated the 23 inductees at a ceremony at the Arts Centre in Melbourne.

Each year, the Honour Roll celebrates exceptional Victorian women who have made significant and lasting contributions to our state and country.

This year's inductees include emerging leaders on climate action, women leading through disaster and those working to support vulnerable communities.

Anjali Sharma – who is the youngest ever inductee at 18-year-old – has been recognised for her work and passion for climate change, as well as support for equality.

Some of the other inductees include Aunty Merle Miller, a Yorta Yorta woman who helped to establish the Dunguludja Dana Youth Group in Shepparton and is part of the Victorian Multicultural Commission Greater City of Shepparton Roundtable.

Commander Debra Robertson APM was also recognised at the awards – as Commander in Charge of Intel Covert Support Command at Victoria Police, she has been instrumental in advocating for greater gender equality in Victoria Police employment policy.

The late Janice 'Jan' Valma Davey OAM received posthumous honours for her role as a leader of Bendigo's brass brand who became the first woman in Australia to be drum major (marching leader).

More than 700 women from diverse backgrounds across the state have been named in the Honour Roll since it began in 2001.

The late Hon Joan Kirner AC, Victoria's only female Premier, created the Honour Roll to formally acknowledge women for their achievements and to encourage others to follow in their footsteps.

## **Quotes attributable to Minister for Women Natalie Hutchins**

"Victoria is full of remarkable women who are leading the nation in their chosen fields and in their communities – these honours are about celebrating their achievements."

"Congratulations to all of this year's inductees in the Victorian Honour Roll of Women – every one of you have made significant and lasting contributions to our state and you help to inspire others to do the same."

Media contact: Sarah Vanin 0410 982 745 | sarah.vanin@minstaff.vic.gov.au

## Women's Honour Roll 2022 inductees

- Aunty Merle Miller
- Elizabeth Adnams
- Linda Thompson
- Anjali Sharma
- Dr Debra Parkinson
- Shorna Moore
- Dr Ngaire Elwood
- Michal Morris
- Kristine Pierce
- Karen Milward
- Hnin Yee Htun Win
- Dr Sherene Loi
- Commander Debra Robertson APM
- Dr Anna Lavelle
- Aishwarya Kansakar
- Christine Welsh
- Ann Smith
- Dr Marilyn Fleer
- Sahar Gholizadeh
- Janice Valma Davey OAM posthumous
- Michelle Telfer
- Hatice Yilmaz
- Joy Sawiche Juma