Media Release

The Hon Anthony Carbines MP

Minister for Police Minister for Crime Prevention Minister for Racing



Wednesday, 3 August 2022

VICTORIAN RACING TRIBUNAL REAPPOINTMENTS

Ten inaugural members of the Victorian Racing Tribunal (VRT) will continue in their roles overseeing the Victorian racing industry's disciplinary and appeals processes.

Minister for Racing Anthony Carbines today announced the Chair Judge John Bowman, Deputy Chairs Judge Graeme Hicks, Magistrate John Doherty and Justice Shane Marshall and six members of the tribunal have been reappointed.

Judge John Bowman has sat on the County Court for more than 20 years and has extensive knowledge of the racing industry, having previously chaired the Racing Victoria Racing Appeals and Disciplinary Board from 2015 until it was replaced by the VRT.

Deputy Chairs Judge Graeme Hicks, Magistrate John Doherty and Justice Shane Marshall have all made a significant contribution to the VRT since it commenced operations on 1 August 2019.

The six other members reappointed are experienced racing administrator and former Racing Victoria Chair of Stewards Des Gleeson, veterinarian and law lecturer Judy Bourke, legal and financial expert June Smith, lawyer Amanda Dickens, former jockey Maree Payne and former County Court Judge Julie Nicholson.

The VRT was established by the Andrews Labor Government to enhance and streamline the disciplinary and appeals process for thoroughbred, harness and greyhound racing. It hears and determines charges and appeals for racing's three codes.

Since commencement the tribunal has heard approximately 600 cases and significantly reduced the backlog of cases waiting to be heard.

The racing industry in Victoria generates \$4.7 billion for the Victorian economy and helps sustain 34,900 full time equivalent jobs locally.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Racing Anthony Carbines

"Setting up the Victorian Racing Tribunal has been a landmark achievement for the Government, providing an independent and expert disciplinary and appeals process for racing across the three codes."

"I congratulate these 10 outstanding tribunal members on their reappointment, and I'm grateful they will continue overseeing Victoria's racing industry."

Media contact: Isobella Meredith 0456 306 337 | isobella.meredith@minstaff.vic.gov.au