



Monday, 23 August 2021

STATEMENT FROM THE PREMIER

I am very pleased to confirm that Lisa Neville has returned from leave and resumes her ministerial duties today.

Lisa has shown enormous strength and resilience through her recovery from surgery and treatment for Crohn's disease, and I know how determined she has been to return to work.

Lisa will continue in her roles as the Minister for Water, Minister for Police and Coordinating Minister of the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning.

She also retains responsibility for COVID-19 Quarantine Victoria (CQV) as it continues to play a significant role in our pandemic response. Preparations are now underway to establish the new quarantine facility at Mickleham which will be run by CQV, reporting through the Police portfolio.

As part of her return-to-work planning, Lisa and I have discussed what she needs to do to ensure her health continues to improve and her recovery is sustainable.

After considering advice from her doctors, she has been clear that some of the requirements of the Emergency Services portfolio – including regular travel around to remote parts of the state at short notice – are simply not compatible with managing her condition and recovery.

On that basis, Attorney General Jaclyn Symes will now take over as Minister for Emergency Services, working with Emergency Management Victoria and our emergency services organisations to continue preparations for the next fire season.

She will also lead our disaster recovery work with Bushfire Recovery Victoria and continue supporting communities recently affected by storms and flooding.

Jaala Pulford adds Resources to her existing economic portfolio responsibilities, overseeing the regulation of this important sector and supporting it to continuing creating jobs and supplying the vital materials underpinning our infrastructure boom.

Finally, can I thank Danny Pearson and Richard Wynne for acting in Lisa's portfolios while she recovered.

ANDREWS MINISTRY | August 2021

Daniel Andrews	Premier
James Merlino	Deputy Premier Minister for Education Minister for Mental Health
Jaclyn Symes	Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council Attorney-General Minister for Emergency Services
Gayle Tierney	Deputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council Minister for Training and Skills Minister for Higher Education
Tim Pallas	Treasurer Minister for Industrial Relations Minister for Economic Development
Jacinta Allan	Leader of the House Minister for Transport Infrastructure Minister for the Suburban Rail Loop
Ben Carroll	Minister for Public Transport Minister for Roads and Road Safety
Lily D'Ambrosio	Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change Minister for Solar Homes
Luke Donnellan	Minister for Child Protection Minister for Disability, Ageing and Carers
Martin Foley	Minister for Health Minister for Ambulance Services Minister for Equality
Melissa Horne	Minister for Consumer Affairs, Gaming and Liquor Regulation Minister for Ports and Freight Minister for Fishing and Boating
Natalie Hutchins	Minister for Crime Prevention Minister for Corrections Minister for Youth Justice Minister for Victim Support
Shaun Leane	Minister for Local Government Minister for Suburban Development Minister for Veterans
Lisa Neville	Minister for Water Minister for Police
Martin Pakula	Minister for Industry Support and Recovery Minister for Trade Minister for Business Precincts Minister for Tourism, Sport and Major Events Minister for Racing

Danny Pearson	Assistant Treasurer Minister for Regulatory Reform Minister for Government Services Minister for Creative Industries
Jaala Pulford	Minister for Employment Minister for Innovation, Medical Research and the Digital Economy Minister for Small Business Minister for Resources
Ros Spence	Minister for Multicultural Affairs Minister for Community Sport Minister for Youth
Ingrid Stitt	Minister for Workplace Safety Minister for Early Childhood
Mary-Anne Thomas	Minister for Regional Development Minister for Agriculture
Gabrielle Williams	Minister for Aboriginal Affairs Minister for Prevention of Family Violence Minister for Women
Richard Wynne	Minister for Housing Minister for Planning
Sonya Kilkenny	Cabinet Secretary

Parliamentary Secretaries

Steve Dimopoulos	Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier
Steve Dimopodios	Parliamentary Secretary for Mental Health
Josh Dull	
Josh Bull	Parliamentary Secretary for Multicultural Affairs
	Parliamentary Secretary for Youth
Anthony Carbines	Parliamentary Secretary for Health
	Parliamentary Secretary for Carers and Volunteers
Paul Edbrooke	Parliamentary Secretary for Police
	Parliamentary Secretary for Emergency Services and Bushfire Recovery
Jane Garrett	Parliamentary Secretary for Jobs
Danielle Green	Parliamentary Secretary for Sport
	Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Victoria
Bronwyn Halfpenny	Parliamentary Secretary for Workplace Safety
Steve McGhie	Parliamentary Secretary for Health
Frank McGuire	Parliamentary Secretary for Crime Prevention
	Parliamentary Secretary for Medical Research
Cesar Melhem	Parliamentary Secretary for Training and Skills
Tim Richardson	Parliamentary Secretary for Schools
Harriet Shing	Parliamentary Secretary for Water
	Parliamentary Secretary for Creative Industries
	Parliamentary Secretary for Equality
Nick Staikos	Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer
Vicki Ward	Parliamentary Secretary for Transport