Media Release

The Hon Richard Wynne MP Minister for Planning Minister for Housing Acting Minister for Water



Friday, 14 May 2021

NEW GEELONG AUTHORITY CHAIR APPOINTED

The Andrews Labor Government today announced the appointment of Ms Diana Taylor as Chair of the Geelong Authority.

The Geelong Authority was established in 2015 to advise the Minister for Planning on strategies to attract investment to central Geelong and to fast-track major planning decisions, create jobs and drive growth in Geelong.

Ms Taylor, a Geelong Authority member since 2017, brings a wealth of experience to the role including as a board chair, business owner and lawyer. She is the Vice President of the Geelong Football Club, Chair of Anam Cara House Geelong and GOTAFE and a Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre Trustee.

The Geelong Authority's advice has been critical in implementing the *Revitalising Central Geelong (RCG) Action Plan,* which has led to \$400 million in projects being delivered.

Priority projects under the plan include the next stages of the Malop Street Green Spine, the Arts and Culture precinct; creating Laneway Breakthroughs, the review of the Central Geelong Framework Plan, improving accessibility in central Geelong, and project planning until 2026.

The landmark Geelong City Deal between the Australian Government, Victorian Government and City of Greater Geelong is also delivering \$382.48 million to the region. The Authority will continue to play a key role in supporting delivery of these projects.

Ms Taylor replaces Professor Roz Hansen, who concluded her time in the role in December 2020.

For more information about the Authority, visit revitalising central geelong.vic.gov.au/about-us/geelong-authority.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Planning Richard Wynne

"Ms Taylor's wealth of experience and commitment to Geelong makes her well-suited to lead the Geelong Authority as it streamlines planning for major projects and fast-tracks investment and development in Geelong."

"I thank former Geelong Authority Chair, Professor Roz Hansen, for her dedication and expertise in helping shape a liveable and vibrant Geelong for future generations."

Quotes attributable to Chair of the Geelong Authority Diana Taylor

"As a proud product of Geelong, I am thrilled to lead the Geelong Authority and to work closely with the City of Greater Geelong and the many visionary partners who are committed to Geelong."

"I look forward to continuing the good work of the Geelong Authority and driving economic, social and population growth within the city's CBD."

Media contact: Lorraine Haase 0447 763 735 I lorraine.haase@minstaff.vic.gov.au