## **Media Release**

Ingrid Stitt MP Minister for Workplace Safety Minister for Early Childhood



Wednesday, 25 November 2020

## WINNERS NAMED FOR VICTORIAN EARLY YEARS AWARDS

The winners of the 15<sup>th</sup> Victorian Early Years Awards have been unveiled – recognising the outstanding people and programs that support and nurture our youngest Victorians.

Minister for Early Childhood Ingrid Stitt today announced eight winners across seven categories — improving engagement in learning, supporting parents, building collaborative community partnerships, improving health and wellbeing, exemplary practice in early childhood education, leadership, and significant service improvement.

The prestigious awards also include a separate Minister's Award, which is personally selected by the Minister for Early Childhood.

This year's award went to The Royal Children's Hospital Education Institute Special Kindergarten Program for its funded four-year-old kindergarten for inpatients.

This program enables four-year-old children, who have limited-to-no access to community kindergarten settings due to ill-health, vulnerability, disadvantage or hospitalisation, to take part in vital early childhood education tailored to their individual needs.

The Early Childhood Teacher of the Year was also awarded to Josette Nunn from Yarram Early Learning Centre for her evidence-based practice that has significantly improved outcomes for children, particularly in literacy and concept development.

Jo has shown exceptional skill in making learning visible to children, families and the community so that it is informative, user-friendly and inclusive.

The awards showcase and celebrate the outstanding achievements of both individuals and organisations in the early childhood sector, who are creating positive opportunities and outcomes for Victorian children and families.

The winners were selected from 115 nominations received in 2020 across the seven categories. Winners of each category receive a grant of up to \$15,000 for professional development or to support their nominated early childhood initiative.

For the full list of winners, visit <a href="education.vic.gov.au/veya">education.vic.gov.au/veya</a>

## **Quotes attributable to Minister for Early Childhood Ingrid Stitt**

"Congratulations to the winners of this year's Victorian Early Years Awards for their contribution to improving outcomes for Victorian children and their families."

"These winners are leaders in the early childhood sector, exemplifying the hard work and dedication to provide the best opportunities and educational outcomes for children in the Education State."

Media contact: Harry Adam 0448 505 876 | harry.adam@minstaff.vic.gov.au