## **Media Release**

The Hon Lily D'Ambrosio MP
Minister for Energy, the Environment and Climate Change
Minister for Solar Homes



Thursday, 29 October 2020

## NEW MEMBERS APPOINTED TO PARKS VICTORIA BOARD

The governing board of Parks Victoria has three new members as well as a new chairperson and deputy chairperson following appointments made by the Victorian Government.

Minister for Environment Lily D'Ambrosio today announced the board members who will play a significant role in managing 4.1 million hectares of parks, reserves, waterways, jetties and piers for conservation, recreation and cultural heritage purposes.

Current board member John Pandazopoulos will serve as Chairperson for the next four years. Mr Pandazopoulos has experience in public policy, advocacy, governance, audit and risk, compliance and reporting requirements and will also bring extensive involvement in community consultation and representation.

During his time on the board Mr Pandazopolous has served on committees focusing on planning, projects and asset management and aboriginal engagement.

Ms Lisa Marty will serve as deputy Chairperson for the next three years and brings experience in forestry and natural resource management.

New members on the board include Dr Anthony Boxshall, Dr Doris Paton and Ms Vijaya Vaidyanath, each of whom will serve for the next four years. In addition, Mr Graham Atkinson, Professor Michael Clarke, Mrs Christine Trotman and Ms Annette Vickery have been reappointed for three years.

The board members collectively boast the skills, knowledge and experience relevant to the objects and functions of Parks Victoria with special expertise in conservation; cultural heritage, Aboriginal community liaison; financial management; forestry and natural resource management; public policy, advocacy, and governance.

All members were appointed after an expression of interest process that attracted a large and diverse field of candidates.

The appointment process continues to deliver on the Government's goal of achieving 50 per cent female representation on boards. Three Traditional Owners now appointed to Parks Victoria reflects the Government's commitment to Aboriginal self-determination.

The outgoing chairperson Jeff Floyd and board members Kate Vinot and Helen Weston have worked tirelessly to steer the organisation through one of the most challenging periods in our state's history.

## Quotes attributable to Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change Lily D'Ambrosio

"These new board members bring a great range of knowledge and experience to Parks Victoria in a variety of fields, including cultural heritage, financial management; forestry and natural resource management."

"For the first time in Parks history there are three Traditional Owners on the Board – reflecting the significant partnerships Parks has with all Traditional Owners."

"I would like to thank the outgoing board members including Chairperson Jeff Floyd, Kate Vinot and Helen Weston for their work and look forward to the contributions of the new members."

Media Contact: Nicole Bland 0417 375 623 | nicole.bland@minstaff.vic.gov.au